Official Publication of the Philippine Information Agency Bicol Regional Office, in cooperation with the RIAC-REDIRAS - RDC Bicol

Thursday, May 12, 2016

Winners in Bicol’s election hotspot proclaimed

MASBATE CITY, May 12 (PIA)—Masbate, the lone election hotspot in Bicol in Monday’s elections, has proclaimed its newly elected officials.

The board of canvassers of Masbate proclaimed former Governor Antonio Kho as the province’s new chief executive on Wednesday, May 11.

Kho, who ran under the Nacionalista Party, bested his rivals, former Governor Rizalina Seachon-Lanete, former Representative Narciso Bravo and businesswoman Mercy Cabiles.

Poll officials also proclaimed Bravo’s running mate, Acting Vice Governor Jo Kristine Revil, who was elected in a landslide to extend her time in office until June 2019.

Kho’s ticket, however, was only able to get one of the 10 provincial board seats.

Six of them were won by the allies of Lanete while the rest went to Bravo’s candidates.

Also proclaimed were reelectionist Representatives Maria Vida Espinosa-Bravo (first district), Elisa Olga Kho (second district) and Scott Davies Lanete (third district).

All winning candidates in 20 towns and a city in the province were officially proclaimed winners.

Rowena Tuason won her second term as Masbate City mayor in landslide victory over former city Vice Mayor Allan Cos.

Tuason first defeated Cos in 2013.  Cos served as vice mayor for six years.

Poll officials proclaimed unopposed reelectionist Mayor Salvadora Sanchez of Uson.

Also proclaimed was unopposed candidate Nilo Du for the mayoral post of Placer.

Arturo Virtucio was proclaimed as the new mayor of the mining town of Aroroy.

In Baleno, Mayor Romeo dela Rosa tightened his hold over the town. Dela Rosa was reelected, while his wife Maritess won the vice mayoralty race.

In Mandaon, reelectionist Mayor Kristine Salve Hao easily defeated her two challengers to win a third term.

In Milagros, the Magbalons retained their grip on the town after Jose and wife Natividad Isabel were proclaimed mayor and vice mayor respectively.  The couple swapped positions when term limits barred Natividad Isabel from seeking a fourth term in the town’s highest post.

In Mobo, Susan Castillo won the mayoral race to succeed her husband, outgoing Mayor Percival Castillo.

In Balud, reelectionist Mayor Ruben Jude Lim was given fresh mandate.

In Batuan, Charmax Jan Yuson, son of the incumbent mayor, was elected in a landslide win over his two opponents.

Froy Andueza, the incumbent vice mayor of Claveria, routed his opponent for the mayoralty post.

In Monreal, reelectionist Mayor Ben Espiloy also trounced his challenger to win a third term.

In San Fernando, Byron Angelo Bravo handily defeated his opponent to succeed his father, Mayor Narciso Bravo, who ran but lost in the gubernatorial race.

Nelly Altiche-Delavin was proclaimed mayor of San Jacinto, the seaside town known for its dive site that teems with manta rays.

In San Pascual, winning a third term was a breeze for reelectionist Mayor Zacarina Lazaro when she defeated her challenger by landslide.

In Cataingan, former mayor Felipe Cabataña reclaimed his old post in a sound victory over his lone rival.

In Dimasalang, former police chief inspector Edgar de Lara unseated Mayor Henry Naga.

In Esperanza, reelectionist Mayor Ian Peter Sepulveda trounced his two challengers to win a second term.

In Pio V. Corpus, reelectionist Mayor Allan Lepasana was given a fresh mandate.

In Cawayan, incumbent Vice Mayor Ramon Abinuman was proclaimed as the town's new chief executive.

In Palanas, reelectionist Mayor Rudy Alvarez was given a fresh term. (Ernesto Delgado/PIA5-Masbate)    

- See more at: http://news.pia.gov.ph/article/view/821463096864/winners-in-bicol-s-election-hotspot-proclaimed#sthash.xlJ236Vd.dpuf

No comments:

Post a Comment