Official Publication of the Philippine Information Agency Bicol Regional Office, in cooperation with the RIAC-REDIRAS - RDC Bicol

Thursday, April 7, 2016

PTALB bares shortlisted entries

By Ana-Liza S. Macatangay

PILI, CAMARINES SUR, April 7 (PIA) --- The 8th Premyo Tomas Arejola sa Literaturang Bikolnon (PTALB) recently bared the shortlisted entries set to vie for the premier literary competition’s top prize for the “Pagrokyaw kan Pinakamababansay na Obrang Panliteratura 2016 comes April 22.

PTALB chair Carlos A. Arejola said three essays, eight short stories, four one-act plays, seven collections of poetry, and two short stories for children made it to the list of finalists from a field of 51 entries from all over Bicol and other parts of the Philippines.

The Selection Committee headed by Lorna A. Billanes, Ph.D. and his committee members painstakingly went through every contest piece, ensuring that every worthy detail is noted and indexed in their verdict sheets.

“Karsel” by Mary Karol Fe R. Go of Legazpi City, “An Huring Paraduno” by Niles Jordan Breis of Tabaco City, “Urulay Mag-ilusyon” by Elsie C. Albis of Naga City, and “N da neym ov da Pudra” by Richard Madrilejos of Tabaco City were short-listed for the one-act play category.

Shortlisted for fiction are “Anino sa Resort” by Irmina Torres of Naga City, “Abo sa Paggabas” by Marvin Davila Aquino of Tinambac, Camarines Sur, “Italbong sa Irarom kan Salog” by Gilmar Baran of Pili, Camarines Sur, “Rawraw”  by Nestor Alagbate of Daet, Camarines Norte, “Scoop” by Juan Escandor Jr. of Gubat, Sorsogon and Naga City, “Bisita” by Sharmaine Zen Manzano of Naga City, “Estudyante” by Michael Florano Sales of Pili, Camarines Sur, and “Basilio” by Jomark M. Baynado of Polanqui, Albay.

Making it to the final list of nominated pieces for poetry are “An mga Buto ni Kuracog” by Emmanuel T. Barrameda of Catanduanes and Imus, Cavite, “Gapo asin Iba pang Rawitdawit” by Elbert Olaso Baeta of Iriga City, “Ampaw asin Iba pang Rawitdawit” by Irvin Parco Sto. Tomas of Canaman, Camarines Sur, “Pano Padabaon an Diyos asin Iba pang Rawitdawit” by Richard Madrilejos of Tabaco City,  “Tag-ok sa Ginobat” by Nestor M. Awa of Iriga City, “Lapridarga Mga Rawitdawit Dapit sa Sakral asin Handal” by Niles Jordan Breis of Tabaco City, and “Mga Kasagkodan” by Jerome Hipolito of Calabanga, Camarines Sur.  

Arejola also confirmed that “Bako Ako Bikolano” by Richard Madrilejos, “Magurang Ka Man” by Arlan Abanes Alzaga, and “Kun Tano Kami Kadto Nagbabaralon nin Pangudtuhan sa Sinehan” by  Niles Jordan Breis, all of Tabaco City, Albay – made it for the essay category.

The finalists for short stories for children include “Ada Baruga”, a story for children by Jaime Jesus Borlagdan of Tabaco City and “An Apat na Kabalang” a story for children by Irmina V. Torres of Naga City.

In an interview, Arejola stated that the annual literary prize is a tribute to the great legacy of the Bicolano patriot Tomas Padilla Arejola, who was a leading member of the Propaganda Movement and Malolos Congress and a delegate to the First and Second Philippine Assembly.

The ceremony is also in support of Proclamation No. 968, s. 2015 signed on February 10, 2015 declaring April of every year as National Literature Month or “Buwan ng Panitikan”.  (MAL/LSM-PIA5/Camarines Sur)

- See more at: http://news.pia.gov.ph/article/view/861460026597/ptalb-bares-shortlisted-entries#sthash.Rp726A2c.dpuf

No comments:

Post a Comment