Official Publication of the Philippine Information Agency Bicol Regional Office, in cooperation with the RIAC-REDIRAS - RDC Bicol

Thursday, May 12, 2016

Provincial winners in Albay proclaimed

LEGAZPI CITY, May 12 (PIA) – On the nigh of May 10, the canvassing of election results in Albay has ended and the winning candidates in the province have been proclaimed with old time candidates taking the winnings for all three congressional seats in Albay.

Atty. Edcel Lagman has regained his seat as representitve of the first congressional district of Albay. Lagman returned to the post after making way for his son, Rep. Greco Lagman, last 2013 following his three-term in congress then.

Incumbent Albay governor Joey Salceda notched the seat for the second congressional district with an overwhelming votes from his constitutents.

While incumbent Rep. Fernando Gonzales also garnered overwhelming number of votes to retain his seat for Albay's third congressional district.

Incumbent Rep. Al Francis Bichara of the second congressional district meanwhile won the gubernatorial seat and incumbent Vice Governor Harold Imperial would also be assuming office as Albay’s vice-governor.

Meanwhile in the national contest, though it is not enough to overcome the colossal lead of Davao City mayor Rodrigo Duterte for the presidency, Liberal Party (LP) standard-bearer Mar Roxas and most of his LP colleagues dominated the Albayano votes.

The Certificates of Canvass (COC), released by Albay’s Provincial Board of Canvass (PBOC), shows Roxas ranking first in the province’s polls with 221,778 votes, which is 36.77% of the vote percentage.  Ranked second is Grace Poe with a hair-line margin with 221,578 votes (36.74%), only 200 votes away from Roxas’.

Following respectively are Rody Duterte with 13.32% (80,361 votes), Jojo Binay with 10.47% (63,144 votes), Miriam Santiago with 2.58% (15,595 votes), and Roy Señeres with 0.09% (599 votes).

For the vice-presidency, LP’s bet and Camarines Sur congresswoman Leni Robredo reigned triumphant with 380,754 votes, or 64.70% of Albay’s voting percentage. She is followed respectively by fellow Bicolano Sen. Chiz Escudero with 117,113 votes (19.90%), Ilocos congressman Bongbong Marcos with 42,324 votes (7.19%), and Duterte’s running-mate Sen. Alan Peter Cayetano with 23,713 votes (4.02%).

In the senatorial race, LP and independent candidates reigned supreme in Albay. The top-seeds, ranked respectively, are Frank Drilon (LP/6.53%), Leila De Lima (LP/6.20%), Riza Hontiveros (AKBYN/5.76%), Kiko Pangilinan (LP/5.65%), Miguel Zubiri (Ind./5.46%), Joel Villanueva (LP/5.23%), Dick Gordon (Ind./5.09%), Francis Tolentino (Ind./4.89%), Ping Lacson (Ind./4.73%), and Win Gatchalian (NPC/4.71%).

As per the Commission on Elections, the province of Albay has a total of 742,204 registered voters.  636,596 registered voters actually voted in the province for the 2016 elections, garnering a voters’ turnout of 85.77%. (MAL/JBE-PIA5/Albay)

- See more at: http://news.pia.gov.ph/article/view/3211463032137/provincial-winners-in-albay-proclaimed#sthash.9yvvUaoD.dpuf

No comments:

Post a Comment