Official Publication of the Philippine Information Agency Bicol Regional Office, in cooperation with the RIAC-REDIRAS - RDC Bicol

Thursday, November 19, 2015

4 Catanduanes schools named best 'Brigada' implementers

VIRAC, Catanduanes, Nov. 19 (PIA)—At least four schools in this province are among the state-run schools in Bicol that have been honored by the Department of Education (DepEd) for their exemplary performance in mobilizing community participation in Brigada Eskwela—a pre-opening cleanup and maintenance activity.

These schools were formally recognized as this year’s “Best School Implementers” of Brigada Eskwela in ceremonies held on Oct. 29 at the Casablanca Hotel in Legazpi City.

Likewise, five individuals in each honored school were cited as “Best Stakeholders.”

 The annual Brigada Eskwela (“Brigada”) or the National Schools Maintenance Week is a school maintenance program that assembles a legion of volunteers both from the government and the private sectors to contribute their time, resources and effort to spruce up public schools before the opening of classes in June.

They paint classrooms, repaired furnitures and cleaned up the school grounds, with materials and supplies donated by the parents or by private businesses and foundations.

In his message to the winners, DepEd Regional Director Ramon Fiel Abcede cited the community’s endless commitment for Brigada.

This year, Brigada in Bicol generated some P230 million worth of repair, construction and maintenance support, as well as volunteer services.

Adjudged best implementers are Juan M. Alberto Memorial Elementary School (JMAMES) in Virac, Cobo Integrated School in Pandan, Panganiban National High School (PNHS) and Catanduanes National High School (CNHS).

Named best stakeholders were principal Ruth Sorrera, Brigada coordinator Irene Borja, Parents-Teachers Association (PTA) president Jose Navar Jr., Student Pupil Government (SPG) president Franz Henry dela Rosa, Virac Mayor Flerida Alberto;

Principal Arnold Valledor, Brigada coordinator Eddie Ogalesco, PTA president Teresita Robles, Supreme Student Government (SSG) president Christian Bajao, Panganiban Mayor Robert Fernandez;

Principal Amalia Domingo, Brigada coordinator Ma. Joan Samudio, PTA president Ines Fernandez, SPG president Cassandra Galicia, Cobo Mayor Joseph Al-Randie Wong;

Principal Rudy Tolentino, Brigada coordinator Teresa Camu, PTA president Fernan Gianan, SSG president Louise Grace Valeza and Alberto.

Also honored were Rep. Cesar Sarmiento, Governor Araceli Wong, Schools Division Superintendent Nympha Guemo, Brigada division coordinators Maria Imelda Abejo and Marife Brequillo and the JMAMES Alumni Association. (EAD/EAB/PIA- Catanduanes)

- See more at: http://news.pia.gov.ph/article/view/841447813604/4-catanduanes-schools-named-best-brigada-implementers#sthash.ixUnV13M.dpuf

No comments:

Post a Comment