Official Publication of the Philippine Information Agency Bicol Regional Office, in cooperation with the RIAC-REDIRAS - RDC Bicol

Tuesday, October 22, 2013

Bicol is home for exemplary public servants – CSC chair Duque

LEGAZPI CITY, October 21 (PIA) --  Bicol region has the highest number of awardees in the whole country for this year's Honor Awards Program of the Civil Service Commission (CSC) that must be looked up to as exemplars for other regions to emulate, according to CSC Chairman Francisco Duque III .

Duque expressed admiration to the Bicol region’s grandslam record featured six awardees that add to the long list of Bicol's bests in various categories frontlined by Albay Governor Jose “Joey” Salceda conferred with Presidential Lingkod Bayan award.

Other awardees are Ligao Mayor Linda Gonzalez, Lynn Padillo of the Department of Education Regional Office V, Dr. Erlinda Relucio of the Bicol University and Albay Public Safety, Emergency Management Office who were given the CSC Pag-Asa Award and Senior Fire Officer 4 Simeon Ballon of the Bureau of Fire Protection who was declared Dangal ng Bayan Awardee.

The six awardees were featured in the awarding rites of the Citizen Satisfaction Center (CSC) Seal of Excellence and Regional Honor Awards held in this city.

The CSC Seal of Excellence awardees were the Home Development Management Fund (HDMF) in Naga City headed by Roberto Salvosa, Development Bank of the Philippines (DBP) Naga City Branch headed by Jennifer Naval, Land Registration Authority (LRA) Naga City headed by Atty. Glenn Perillo and the Social Services System (SSS) Camarines Sur headed by Beatriz Gumabao.

Also recognized in the event are Jail Officer 1 James Edison De los Reyes as Bayaning Kawani awardee, HDMF and DBP in Naga City as awardees for best practices on Anti-Red Tape Act (ARTA) compliance. The other finalists for best practices in ARTA compliance are Government Service Insurance System (GSIS) – Masbate Extension Office headed by Joan De la Cruz, Land Transportation Office (LTO) Tabaco District Office headed by Noel Barbacena, GSIS Sorsogon City headed by Leon Fajardo and Sorsogon State College headed by Dr. Antonio Fuentes.

Meanwhile Social Welfare Officer III Nida Macinas of DSWD Regional Office V is a finalist for Bayaning Kawani category. The Best Human Resource Practice finalists are Bicol Medical Center headed by Dr. Efren Nerva and the Local Government Unit of Mobo in Masbate headed by Atty. Percival Castillo. However, there is no winner declared under this category.

“Earning the seal of excellence is not the end but only the beginning,” Duque said. The CSC is focusing on improving standards on the frontline because the public deserves better if not the best government service, Duque added.

Conferment of awards and recognitions are necessary for government employees and officials to compete to prove that they are better than others to address the problem on red tape by introducing better service delivery aimed to achieve customer satisfaction and hopefully customer delight, Duque said.

The six national awardees from Bicol will be officially conferred with their awards at the awarding rites at the Malacañang Palace on October 24 that will be personally conferred by President Benigno Aquino III. (MAL/JJJP-PIA5/Albay)

No comments:

Post a Comment